Stations of the Cross

A series of fourteen large scale original prints in the collection of York Minster which are the focus of the Lent liturgy.

"In the early days of the Church, Christian pilgrims sought to identify with Jesus by walking the Via Dolorosa, the route of Jesus’ final journey on earth to his crucifixion and death, stopping at various points - stations - to ponder and enter into the reality and significance of his suffering. In the Middle Ages, the practice of reproducing these stations as an aid to devotion sprang up elsewhere, as a result of which Stations of the Cross can be found on many sites and in churches throughout the world.

Lent, the period of time Jesus spent in the desert after his baptism, where he experienced temptation and endured considerable spiritual struggle, is the traditional time when Christians walk the Way of t he Cross, because this season reaches its climax in Holy Week: Maundy Thursday, the day of the Last Supper, Good Friday, when Jesus died, and Holy Saturday, when Jesus lay in the tomb prior to his resurrection on Easter Day.

Christians believe that in Jesus’ acceptance of his suffering, in his meeting with forgiveness of the hatred, violence and anger unleashed on him at the hands of the religious and political authorities of thecday, and in the sheer love and compassion with which he embraced the worst of which human beings are capable, the very nature and being of God as love is revealed. Stations of the Cross are a way of discovering that love for ourselves …” 

The Revd Canon Dr Christopher Collingwood.

1. Christ is condemned to death

Station One

2.Jesus takes up his cross

Station Two

3. Jesus falls for the first time

Station Three

4. Jesus meets his mother

Station Four

5. Simon of Cyrene helps Jesus carry his cross

Station Five

6. Veronica wipes the face of Jesus

Station Six

7. Jesus falls for the second time

Station Seven

8. Jesus meets the women of Jerusalem

Station Eight

9. Jesus falls for the third time

Station Nine

10. Jesus is stripped of his garments

Station Ten

11. Jesus is nailed to the cross

Station Eleven

12. Jesus dies on the cross

Station Twelve

13. Jesus is taken down from the cross

Station Thirteen

14. Jesus is laid in the tomb

Station Fourteen

                                           All images copyright Jerry Scott